Inspiration

Last week I wrote about the wonderful Chip Kidd and how he gets his design inspiration from the daily world around him. This week I want to talk about all the places I get my inspiration from. Here’s the thing about inspiration and being inspired: everybody is different. We all have different things that inspire us, whether it be from the world around us like Chip or from scrolling through the internet at night when you can’t fall asleep, we are all inspired differently. And being different is great in design because for every single inspiration we gain a perspective and an authentic design that sets us apart from the others. Think of it this way, every color, shape, font, layout, etc… that you like it is as if each of them is a single line or swirl of your thumb print. Nobody has the same thumbprint. It makes us authentic and true.

For me, I gain inspiration from the internet. There are many reasons why this is the case. Firstly, I am not quite as sharp and aware of my everyday surrounds like Chip is. I’m actually pretty aloof when it all comes down to the truth of it, but that is who I am. So my favorite places to get inspiration from require the internet. Here are a few websites that I frequently visit:

Pinterest: I know. I know. How cliché and some would possibly say girly of me, but first of all Pinterest is amazing. And second of all, Pinterest is amazing. This is the website I go to when I am just stuck in the design whole and can’t find my way out. So check it out!

Designspiration: This website is crazy cool! You can search by type of design or by a specific color. However, a vast majority of the content lies on the more modern side of design so if that is not what you are looking for maybe don’t get your hopes up. But you can still find plenty of inspiration here.

Webby Awards: My last place of inspiration I want to share on the blog is called The Webby Awards. This website features the top achievers of design for each year starting back in 1997, I believe. Here you can view all the latest and greatest when it comes to websites, online film and video, mobile sites and apps, and advertising and media. This is a great place to get a feel for what is popular now and what may be popular in the future. You can also get some inspiration from some of the leading minds of the design game!

Leave a Reply

