Goodbye Brands on Facebook.

While I was reading the assigned article “Why Fans Un-Friend Your Brand On Facebook” by Ann Marie Kerwin, I had a realization that this brand un-friending is something that is definitely happening in my own social media life. Now that I think about it, I have recently banished certain brands from my Facebook feed. The reasons are many, but here are a few that were also mentioned in the article: material being posted too constantly and overall blandness of material. And the brands that I haven’t yet un-friended I find myself ignoring and scrolling over their posts as if they don’t even exist.

But here’s the catch! If the brand tends to post more visually appealing photos (not really videos due to the commercial-like annoyance) I am more likely to pause on the post than I would lets say if they just used a text-based post.

Here’s what I think I would do were I to have a brand page on Facebook.

First, I would reevaluate who my audience is on the site and make completely sure that what I am posted and how I am posted my content is directly correlated to the interests and needs of my audience. Sometimes you just need to take a step back and start at the beginning.

Secondly, if I see that my content is failing to correlate with my audience’s needs and interests I need to do research and perhaps reach out to some of my audience and ask what it is they want to see from my brand. Give them a choice in what they are spending their time on.

And thirdly, I want to make sure that my content has variety. If you post the same content constantly, you will lose the interest of your audience. Come up with ideas on how to best interact with your audience and what will keep their interest. Variety keeps it fresh.

Anyway those are just a few ideas I had for how to keep and grow your Facebook audience.

Leave a Reply

